Skip to content

Midwest High Speed Rail

February 26, 2009
Midwest High Speed Rail Network Map (via the.urbanophile)

Midwest High Speed Rail Network Map (via the.urbanophile)

Doyle’s push for Wisconsin’s prominent inclusion in a Midwest high-speed rail network is great for everyone.  In December, my wife and I had to sit on the O’Hare tarmac for two hours before our connecting flight to Milwaukee was ultimately canceled because Mitchell couldn’t handle the snowfall — I’m sure everyone has had a short flight like that at some point in time that just didn’t make sense to them.

Once a viable rail network is created, piddly flights like these will be gone forever, allowing airlines to focus on more profitable and efficient flights of longer distances.  HSR is a perfect fit for the distances between most Midwestern cities.

7 Comments
  1. February 28, 2009 4:39 am

    Sounds like a job for http://yourargumentisinvalid.com/

  2. March 2, 2009 11:56 am

    That site’s funny, Dan — I like the shark in the house — but I’m not sure what it has to do with anything. Do you disagree with what I wrote? Help me out! :)

  3. March 2, 2009 11:38 pm

    Oops, I meant to put that comment on “More Great Moments In Journal Sentinel Blogs.”

  4. March 16, 2009 6:59 am

    There are already quite a few options to get you to O’Hare/Chicago and back.

    1. Megabus
    2. Amtrak
    3. Airport buses
    4. Greyhound

    The catch with 3 out of 4 is that you have to take the L into the Loop to catch them.

    Personally, I love to fly out of Chicago (often because of price), and have no problem taking one of the options into the Loop from Milwaukee and hitting the L to O’Hare or Midway.

    The problem is the service time now, with not much in the way of late night service. And of course the L trip from the Loop on out.

    Out of curiosity why didn’t you choose one of those options from the start?

  5. March 16, 2009 8:08 am

    Thanks for your comment, Jeramy.

    Usually, I take the Amtrak Hiawatha from MKE to Union Station and then the blue line up to O’Hare, but on this particular flight we had free tickets through United and I thought the short flight would be easier to manage. I definitely guessed wrong, and we ended up staying the night at a friends and Amtraking it back to MKE the next day.

  6. March 20, 2009 12:17 pm

    @Rob That sounds like bar karma, masquerading as good karma. I was stuck in that trap a few years ago on a flight back from Seattle. Microsoft didn’t understand that I didn’t want to fly back to Milwaukee, as I knew it would take longer, but they were buying. Six hours later I ended up the loser.

  7. March 20, 2009 7:48 pm

    Yeah, we pretty much avoid flying out of MKE, too, because it’s easier for my wife and I to Amtrak down to Chicago, stay with friends and then catch the blue line up to O’Hare in the morning. Unfortunately, I don’t find MCTS reliable enough to do the same here.

Comments are closed.

